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MD Sex Offender Registry
The Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (DPSCS) 
is responsible for the maintenance of the Maryland Sex Offender Registry on 
our public website.

QUICK FACTS:
     as of 1/31/10

Total Registered = 6,435

By Conviction Type
MD Convictions = 5,336
Non-MD Convictions = 1,039
Federal Convictions = 60

By Residency
MD Residents = 6,290
Non-MD Residents = 145
Employed/Student in MD

By Registration Category
Offender = 459
Child Sex Offender = 4,190
Sexually Violent Offender = 1,772
Sexually Violent Predator = 13

By Status
Active = 5,336
Currently in the community

Incarcerated = 1,038
Recently returned to a correctional 
facility (DOC, Federal or Local 
Detention Center)

New = 61
Initial sex offender registrations 
currently being processed

Total Homeless Registered Sex 
Offenders = 189

Total Registered and Currently in 
DOC = 641

Total Registered and Under DPP 
Supervision = 1,870

Common Misperceptions About 
the MD Sex Offender Registry

DPSCS is responsible for offender 
compliance with Registry requirements.

While DPSCS maintains the database of •	
information regarding sexual offenders 
who are required to register in MD, the 
local police are responsible for ensuring 
offenders are compliant.

Everyone who has ever been convicted of a 
sexual offense is registered.

Registration is not currently retroactive - if •	
convicted before the law was imposed for 
registry, they are not required to register. 
Also, some convictions require a court 
order for registration.

Everyone on the Registry is also under 
community supervision by the Division of 
Parole and Probation (DPP).

Being on the Registry does not necessarily •	
mean an offender is under community 
supervision. This misconception also leads 
people to believe that everyone on the 
Registry can have residency restrictions.  
Only when someone is currently under 
DPP supervision can such restrictions be 
placed if deemed necessary by the courts 
or the Maryland Parole Commission.

The Registry can only report one address 
for each offender.

We can put as many addresses on our •	
website as are reported by the offender, 
but they are currently only required by law 
to register more than one address when 
staying there two consecutive weeks or at 
least 30 days in 12 months.

Homeless residents have addresses listed on 
the Sex Offender Registry.

While the O’Malley-Brown Administration •	
submitted legislation to add general 
living locations for homeless residents 
to the Registry in previous years, there is 
currently no law requiring them to submit 
an address.

Current O’Malley-Brown 
Legislation Regarding the MD 
Sex Offender Registry - HB 936/
SB 854

• These proposals would bring the State into 
compliance with the federal Sex Offender 
Registration and Notification Act (SORNA) 
(also known as the Adam Walsh Act), which 
creates minimum standards for sex offender 
registration.  

• States have been given until July 2010 to 
come into “substantial” compliance or risk 
the loss of Byrne grant funds. It is believed 
a 10% reduction in these funds would cost 
Maryland $2M.

• There are two jurisdictions in compliance 
now – the State of Ohio and a Native 
American Tribe.

• This is the third year that the O’Malley-
Brown Administration has submitted at 
least one bill in an effort to meet SORNA 
compliance.

• The most significant changes in HB936/
SB854 include: making the registration 
requirements retroactive; re-classifying the 
sex offense categories; and requiring juvenile 
offenders to register publicly if convicted in 
adult court or if adjudicated delinquent for 
serious sexual offenses and at least 14 years 
of age.

• Without SORNA, it is difficult to categorize 
out-of-state convictions on a registry.  Each 
state has its own classification system for 
offenders, as well as its own construct for 
statutory sex offenses (degree of offense, etc.) 
Making it difficult 
for registration 
officials, law 
e n f o r c e m e n t , 
and the public to 
understand the 
nature of the prior 
offense as well as 
the degree of risk associated.
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MD Sex Offender Registry
Categories of MD Sex Offenders - Who Must Register
•Any individual convicted as a “Child Sex Offender” after October 1, 1995 must register.  Any individual convicted as a Child Sex Offender for an offense that was 
committed before October 1, 1995 and was under the custody or supervision of a supervising authority on October 1, 2001 for the crime that required registration.

•Any individual convicted as a “Sexually Violent Offender” after July 1, 1997 must register.  Any individual convicted as a “Sexually Violent Offender” for an offense 
that was committed before July 1, 1997 and was under the custody or supervision of a supervising authority on October 1, 2001 for the crime that required registration.
 

•Any individual convicted as an “Offender” for an offense after July 1, 1997 and was ordered to register by the Court.  Any individual convicted as an “Offender” for an 
offense that was committed before July 1, 1997; was ordered by the Court to register; and was under the custody or supervision of a supervising authority on October 1, 
2001 for the crime that required registration. 

Sexually Violent Predators 

• “Predator” status is determined by the court as defined in the Criminal Procedure Article § 11-701(h) - Registration Every 3 Months

Conviction Categories for Child Sex Offenders - As defined in Criminal Procedure Article § 11-701(b) - Registration Every 6 Months

Offense Age of Victim Registration Term

Sexual Abuse of Minor CPA § 11-707(a)(4)(ii)(3) Under 12 + offense involved penetration Lifetime

Sexual Abuse of Minor Under 18 10 years

1st Degree Rape Under 15 Lifetime

1st Degree Rape + Child Kidnapping Under 16 Lifetime

2nd Degree Rape Under 15 Lifetime

1st Degree Sex Offense Under 15 Lifetime

1st Degree Sex Offense + Child Kidnapping Under 16 Lifetime

2nd Degree Sex Offense Under 15 Lifetime

3rd Degree Sex Offense Under 15 Lifetime

4th Degree Sex Offense (and ordered by the court to register) Under 15 10 years

Conviction Categories for Sexually Violent Offenders - As defined in Criminal Procedure Article § 11-701(f) - Registration Every 6 Months

Offense Age of Victim Registration Term

1st Degree Rape 15 years & older Lifetime

2nd Degree Rape 15 years & older Lifetime

1st Degree Sex Offense 15 years & older Lifetime

2nd Degree Sex Offense 15 years & older Lifetime

3rd Degree Sex Offense 15 years & older Lifetime

All Attempted Offenses Above and All Comparable Common Law Offenses As defined above Lifetime

Conviction categories for Offenders (must be ordered by court to register) - As defined in the Criminal Procedure Article § 11-701(d) - Registration Every 6 Months

Offense Age of Victim Registration Term

Child Abduction Under 16 10 years

Kidnapping 12 years & older 10 years

Child Kidnapping Under 12 10 years

False Imprisonment (not parent) Under 18 10 years

Fourth Degree Sex Offense Under 18 10 years

Distribution and Manufacturing of Child Pornography Under 18 10 years

Prostitution Under 18 10 years

Incest Under 18 10 years

Perverted Sex Practices Under 18 10 years

Sodomy Under 18 10 years

Soliciting Minor to Engage in Sexual Conduct Under 18 10 years

Crimes that involve conduct that by its nature is a sexual offense against an 
individual under the age of 18 as defined in CPA 11-701(d)(7)

Under 18 10 years

All Attempted  Offenses Above and All Comparable Common Law Offenses As defined above 10 Years
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