see all DPSCS web features here

Police and Correctional Training Commissions’ 5th Annual Fallen Heroes Ceremony

Every year in May, during the time set aside to honor fallen law enforcement officers, the training agencies within DPSCS hold a special ceremony and wreath-laying.

Every law enforcement and correctional officer, as well as each State parole and probation agent, comes through the Public Safety Education and Training Center in Sykesville, home of the Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commissions (PCTC). So it’s a fitting location for an annual memorial service to remember fallen heroes.

On May 20, with the current classes of corrections, law enforcement and State Police cadets standing at attention, the Secretary of Public Safety and Correctional Services and top officials of the Maryland State Police laid a wreath to honor the four Maryland police officers killed on duty in 2010.

The ceremony began with a welcome from Charles Rapp, Executive Director of PCTC, and the official DPSCS Honor Guard from Patuxent Institution posting the colors. DPSCS Secretary Gary Maynard and Maryland State Police Lt.Col. Stewart Russell each delivered poignant remarks. PCTC’s Bruce Lohr read the official Governor’s proclamation marking the day as a time to remember fallen law enforcement officers.

Everyone then processed outside, where the wreath---with a small banner that reads “Always Remembered”---was laid at the flag court outside the Public Safety Education and Training Center. Those gathered included DPSCS employees, law enforcement personnel, legislators, local officials, and loved ones of fallen officers.

Maryland’s fallen heroes who died in 2010 were Det. James E. Fowler, III; Officer Thomas Portz, Jr.; and Officer William Torbit, all from Baltimore City Police; and TFC Wesley Brown from Maryland State Police.