Maryland Reception, Diagnostic and Classification Center
Inmate Phone & Debit Account Information
ConnectNetwork is GTL’s authorized deposit and account management portal. With several different deposit methods available, ConnectNetwork is the quickest and most convenient option to fund a correctional account.
AdvancePay® Prepaid Telephone Accounts
To accept calls from an inmate at this facility, we recommend you create an AdvancePay® prepaid telephone account. Prepaid calling works by placing money on your phone number so that when your inmate calls you the funds are deducted from the balance on your prepaid account.
Offender Phone DEBIT Accounts
ConnectNetwork PIN Debit (Offender Phone) accounts allow you to make deposits to an offender’s PIN debit phone account.
**Please note- fees may apply to all deposit methods. Specific terms are provided when making a deposit.**
Contraband ~ Criminal Violations
Pursuant to Maryland's Criminal Law Article, Sections 9-410 and 9-412 through 9-417, it is unlawful for a person to possess, deliver, or possess with intent to deliver contraband in a place of confinement. Such items include but are not limited to telecommunication devices, contraband to effect an escape, weapons of any type, alcoholic beverages, controlled dangerous substances, and tobacco.
It is unlawful for a person to deposit or conceal a telecommunication device in or about a place of confinement with the intent that it be obtained by a person detained or confined.
Violators are subject to arrest and will be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. Upon conviction, violators are subject to imprisonment from periods of 3 to 10 years, fines of $1,000 to $5,000, or both.
Effective September 1, 2012, the following changes will be implemented to all MRDCC inmate visiting hours:
- Friday evenings from 6:00 p.m. until 9:00 p.m. (cut off time is 8:00 p.m.)
- Sundays from 9:00 a.m. until 11:00 a.m. (cut off time is 10:00 a.m.) and 1:00 p.m. until 3:00 p.m. (cut off time is 2:00 p.m.)
- Saturdays – 9:00 a.m. until 11:00 a.m. (cut off time is 10:00 a.m.)
- Saturdays from 11:00 a.m. until 3:00 p.m. (cut off time 2:00 p.m.)
- Sundays from 9:00 until 11:00 a.m. (cut off time 10:30 a.m.) and 1:00 p.m. until 3:00 p.m. (cut off time 2:00 p.m.)
Duration: 30 minutes
All visitors are subject to canine (if available), electronic drug detection device (if available), and/or visual mouth searches prior to being allowed to visit an inmate. In addition, all visitors shall be fingerprinted using a single digit fingerprint scanning device (Web ID software). If the Web ID system indicates a “hit” (which only indicates that the visitor has fingerprints on file for either criminal or non-criminal purposes), the visitor will be provided with a letter which explains that the visitor did not clear the fingerprint identification process and what is necessary to proceed. After the visitor submits the required information, the warden or designee will advise the visitor (in writing) as to whether or not their visiting privileges have been approved or disapproved.
If visitors cannot clear the metal detector, they will be denied entry. Nothing may be brought into the institution except as authorized by the warden or designee. Any item brought into the institution in a manner other than authorized is contraband, and the person bringing the item into the institution is subject to criminal penalties.
A visitor 16 years of age and older must present photograph identification.
Children (18 years of age and younger) visiting the inmate must be immediate family to either the inmate or the visitor and must be accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older who is on the inmate’s visiting list.
Us of restroom facilities is prohibited during visitation. If either the inmate or a visitor requires the use of the restroom, the visit will be terminated at that time. Please keep this in mind when visiting with small children.
Visitors should enter through the Greenmount Avenue and Madison Street entrance. Visitors will not be permitted to register after the cut off times listed above.
Inmates will only be allowed legal and clergy visits for the first 60 days of their stay. After the first 60 days, inmates may receive two (2), 30 minute social visits per weekend for the remainder of their stay at MRDCC. Once an inmate is assigned to CADRE, they are permitted to have visits immediately regardless of whether or not they have been at MRDCC for 60 days.
No more than three (3) visitors, including children, may visit at any one time. Toddlers and children are included as visitors.
550 East Madison Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
Go to Map
Phone: (410) 878-3500
Fax: (410) 783-4106
Chief of Security:
Paige C. Jones
Year Opened: 1981
Visitor Dress Code
All visitors, to include children, must dress appropriately for visitation. All clothing must cover from the neck to the kneecaps.
The following types of clothing are not allowed to be worn:
- tube tops, tank tops, or halter tops
- see-through clothing
- mini-skirts, mini-dresses, shorts, skorts, or culottes (at or above the kneecap)
- form-fitting clothes such as leotards, spandex, and leggings
- clothes that expose a person's midriff, side, or back
- tops or dresses that have revealing necklines and/or excessive splits
- coats, jackets, shawls and scarves will be placed in an appropriate area.