
9-1-1 SURCHARGE REMITTANCE PROCEDURES 

 
Authoritative Procedures 

 

Authorized under the Maryland Public Safety Article, pursuant to §1-310 and §1-311, each 

telecommunications service provider that provides “9-1-1 accessible service” must: 

 

 Act as a monthly collection agent for Maryland’s 9-1-1 Surcharge fees (State Fee and County 

Additional Fee – currently $0.25 State and $0.75 County Additional Fee equaling $1.00 total per 

subscriber bill); 

 Remit all money collected to the State of Maryland Comptroller of the Treasury on a monthly basis 

(due by the 23
rd

 of each month); and 

 May retain an amount equal to 0.75 percent of only the State portion of the 9-1-1 collected fees to 

cover the expenses of billing, collecting, and remitting the 9-1-1 fees (Not applicable to the County 

Additional Fee). 

 

Pre-Paid Telecommunication Service Providers must apply the 9-1-1 Surcharge (see above process) when a 

subscriber is charged a recurring monthly fee for minutes/service.  Pre-Paid minutes/service purchased at a 

retail outlet or via the internet on a random basis are also subject to Maryland’s 9-1-1 Surcharge - 

please refer to the Maryland Sales and Use Tax forms for collection and filing procedures. 
 

Remittance Form Procedures  

 

Each company providing 9-1-1 accessible service in Maryland shall remit 9-1-1 Surcharge funds by 

completing the form titled “Emergency Telephone System Trust Fund Report” as indicated below: 

 

For each County and Baltimore City: 

 Number of subscribers remitting the fee for that month 

 The Rate (pre-populated – currently $1.00 from each subscriber)  

 The Total amount collected  for that county(both the State fee and County additional fee) 

 Collection Allowance - The total allowance retained from the 0.75 percent Administrative Fee 

(applicable only on the State portion of the collected fee) 

 Remittance - The total amount remitted, less the administrative fee 

 County Share – The total amount of the collected County additional fee (currently $.075) 

 

For each Collection Total  

 Total of each column 

 State Fee - total State fee collected minus the collection allowance 

 County Fee - total county fee collected – should match total of “county shares” column) 

 Month Ending – identify the month of the collected fees (one month per form) 

 Total Remittance – month’s total remittance (should match total of “Remittance” column) 

 Remittance Last Month – last month’s remittance   

 Percent Difference – percentage of remittance difference from this month and last month’s 

remittances (can reflect a plus or minus change) 

 Comments Area – explain any Percent Difference exceeding 10% or enter other applicable 

comments  

 

All remittance forms should be signed (certifying accuracy) with the check made out to “MD - Comptroller of 

the Treasury” (please indicate “9-1-1 Trust Fund” on the memo/note line) and sent to the following address: 

 

State of Maryland-Comptroller of the Treasury 

           Revenue Administration Division 

     Revenue Administration Center 

       P.O. Box 207 

    Annapolis, MD 21404-0207 

 

Please contact Karen Smith, Accountant for the Emergency Number Systems Board; at 410-585-3023 should 

you have any questions. 


